Bringing the World Closer with Photography: Nakul Sharma, Traveler & Photographer

Nakul Sharma is a Delhi-based traveler and photographer. He currently works as a 1272314_597915460251378_1654658883_ofreelance French tour leader with reputed travel agencies in India. Known for capturing awe-inspiring images from his many travels, Nakul’s work has been a part of various exhibitions and he has won quite a few photography contests in the last couple of years – The Lonely Planet India Travelogue Photo Contest, 2015; The FootMark Travel Photography Contest, 2012; Kaleidoscope India Photography Contest, 2012.

Here is an excerpt from an interview with him.

Tell us about yourself and what drew you to photography, especially travel photography?

I spend most of my time in traveling and photography. My work as a free-lance French Tour leader gives me a lot of opportunity to pursue both these passions.

While growing up, I realized that my life’s calling was in traveling and with time photography also become an integral part of my life. I have been traveling since 2009, exploring and experiencing the most beautiful, cultural, and adventurous places of the world. I am living my dreams of traveling with my camera that allows me to capture the hidden and the astonishing beauty of the world. My life now revolves around travel and photography and I view it in terms of composition, saturation, lenses, colors and travelogue.

For me traveling means: to face my fears, to understand my strengths, heal myself and to find the courage to live alone and dare to experience the things that I have never thought of. Moreover, travel has helped me  overcome the need of a regular and secured life and adopt the rustic and rugged ways to experience life’s real beauty. Photography has helped me in this journey and has contributed immensely to my growth and has aided me to overcome my fears and pains while experiencing the world from the view finder of the camera.

Any one place in India and one abroad that you feel all travel photographers must visit or aspire to capture via their lens?

My travels have taken me to various places and countries including all of North India, France, Spain, Thailand, Vietnam, etc. I have started my world tour in 2014, with a promise to myself to explore and visit 3-4 countries every year.

Amongst all the places that I have been to, the two places that inspire me both as a traveler and photographer are Spiti Valley in India and Vietnam (people photography). I believe that the travel locations should be dictated by the personal taste of each photographer and the kind of photography that he does. The world is too big and offers many treasures to explore and uncover. I suggest explore more and more and bring the world closer through your photography and inspire others to travel and discover.

What kind of equipment/cameras are a must have for travel photographers?

It is the vision and creativity of a photographer that sets him apart from others, the way he/she sees the world and showcases his view is the most import thing in travel photography.  This said, the importance of good quality equipment cannot be undermined – as it helps to capture the moments and emotions during a Journey in the best possible way.

I use CANON 6D, CANON 60D, CANON 500D, CANON 24-105mm f/4 IS, CANON 70-200mm f/4 IS, CANON 18-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS, SIGMA- 85mm f/1.4, CANON- 50mm f/1.8, TOKINA- 16-28mm f/2.8, during my expeditions and travels.

Any tips you’d like to share with budding travel photographers? What are the various professional opportunities that are available for travel photographers?

The only tip I would like to share with my fellow travel photographers is to Always Believe in YOURSELF – no matter how hard the time and choices are, always believe in yourself and try to create more possibilities of traveling for yourself.

I work, save money, and travel the world. I travel and click for myself and for others. I try to bring this beautiful world closer to those who want to travel. I want to inspire young people in India to travel and to take up photography.  Likewise, you must also ask yourself “what traveling means to you and how can your photography can bring a change to your life and to the life of others?”

In India, opportunities for travel photographers are a bit hard to find and not easy available. But it’s not impossible. It took me 5 years to bring my photography to a different level and I am still trying harder and harder to achieve the success I desire.

I believe in my photography and travelogues and try to create more opportunities for work through competitions, blogs, travel stories, and by approaching different organizations and platforms that promote young and talented photographers. My suggestion to all those who want to pursue travel photography as a profession is to TRAVEL, EXPLORE, CLICK AND SHARE.

What has been your most memorable shoot so far? A photograph that you’d like to share with our readers from the shoot?

It’s really hard pick one shoot. I’ve been traveling for the past 6 years and each trip or shoot brings me peace, happiness, stories, and Photos.

But if I had to choose, then it would be the Spiti Valley and Vietnam expeditions. These two journeys changed me a lot as a traveler and a photographer. I have lived some of the most amazing moments of my life in these two places and shot various photos ranging from landscapes to portrait photography, from mountains to people, from adventure to people stories, and every time the experience was just amazing and inspiring.

Some very beautiful photographs from Nakul’s collection to inspire you to travel, explore, click and share! 

unnamed-3

unnamed-4

unnamed-6

unnamed-7

unnamed-2

unnamed-5

unnamed-8

Visit his personal website to view more of his wonderful collection and travel to beautiful locations through his photographs.

Leave a Reply

