Life Behind the Lens: Dr. Navin Sakhuja

Dr. Navin Sakhuja is an ophthalmologist and vitreoretinal eye surgeon by profession and a photographer at heart. Dr. Navin took up photography to explore the many different facets of the world. His work is regularly exhibited at the India Habitat Centre, New Delhi; the next exhibition is planned for December 2015, and will showcase the vast expanses of the Kalahari and Thar deserts in all their splendor.

Dr. Navin believes that a great photograph is an outcome of how the photographer views the object and what/how he thinks about it.

What drew you to photography?

What is it , I sometimes wonder that drives me to photograph. I think of it, dream of it and often obsess about capturing a single image. Like so many others, I too am in search of a Greater God. It has been said that there are two people in every photograph, the artist and the viewer, I will have achieved my goal and found my Greater God if both can view the images with the same eyes.

I got drawn into photography quite by accident. A cousin of mine had returned from his studies in the US and was selling his camera and I bought it. It was the best decision I’ve ever made.

Who or what is your inspiration?

I don’t think I have any one inspiration or person.  I am inspired everyday by what I see around me. It could be a single leaf fluttering in the wind or a stunning photograph by another photographer.

One emerging trend in photography that we should look forward to?

I would like to see photography become a little less contrived and a little more driven by passion. The genre of photography I like is landscape and I woul like to see more inspirational landscape photography in the future.

Which camera do you shoot with and is there a specific photography style that you like?

I use a Canon 5D –Mark III and I like to shoot abstact landscapes from desolate areas of our planet which have minimal influence of mankind.

A few words of wisdom for budding photographers?

If you’re serious about photography, I would suggest, you get yourself a reasonably good SLR camera, read up a lot on technique, observe and see as many exhibitions of great photographers as you can, and most importanatly shoot a lot.

A bit about your most memorable shoot so far?

My most memorable shoot was in the Kalahari Desert while shooting from a balloon at sunrise. I’ve never seen anything so stunning.

A favourite picture that you’d like to share?

This is one of my favourites, It’s the night sky in the desert, in Namibia

Picture1

Leave a Reply

